On Religion, The Media and Life as a 20-something in Chicago

This week was Fall TV Time! Or whatever it is it’s called. TV premiere week. Or the start of the new TV season, I guess. You can tell I don’t watch that much TV. I don’t even have cable — just Season Two of Mad Men on DVD and a fondness for Saturday morning cooking shows on PBS. But I did tune in for one premiere: New Girl, 9/8 Central Tuesdays on FOX. It was a little awkward, as most pilots are, but it had some good lines about “reverse Mormons” (I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t used that one before… don’t ask why…) and a “stripper with a heart of gold.” That last one hit me funny because I’m pretty sure one of my former roommates owns the domain name hookerwithaheartofgold.com. Or she did at one point, at least. I’m also pretty sure another of my former roommates is actually Zooey Deschanel’s character, Jess. Which, considering the premise of the show is Jess moving in to an apartment full of men, might actually make me a man. While we’re on the subject, how do I love thee, Zooey Deschanel? Let me count the ways… For the rest of the story, visit Lean Girls Club.

In Uncategorized on September 25, 2011 at 8:02 pm

This ‘New Girl’ Rocks: Zooey Deschanel (Lean Girls Club)

Leave a Reply

